Vermont Nursing Assistant / Nurse Aide Guide
Is a License or Certification needed: To get certified and work as a nursing assistant or nurse aide in Vermont, you need to complete a nursing assistant program and pass the National Nurse Aide Assessment Program (NNAAP) exam.
Who Grants Certification: The Vermont State Board of Nursing grants certification to Vermont nursing assistants / nurse aides.
The Qualifications to become Certified: The qualifications necessary for receiving a nurse assistant license in the state of Vermont include:
- Complete an 80-hour state-approved nurse aide training program (that includes 30 hours of clinical practice) successfully, and
- Pass the Vermont NNAAP examination.
How to Apply for Certification and to take the Exam: Candidates must apply online for Nurse Aide licensure in Vermont. See application instructions here.
Register to test at redcross.org or by calling 800-RED CROSS, and then bring the completed application with you.
Vermont test sites can be found here.
Test Content: The NNAAP test has two parts, a Skills Evaluation and a Written (or oral) part. Both parts must be passed to be listed on the Vermont State Nurse Aide Registry. The written section is 70 questions in length, 60 are multiple-choice and 10 are reading comprehension questions. Take two pencils with you. You will have two full hours to complete the exam. (The oral exam if given in place of the written exam is 160 questions in length.) The Skills Evaluation will be a 25 minute time period given to complete 5 randomly selected nurse aide skills.
Content topics include:
- Activities of Daily Living – Hygiene, Dressing and Grooming, Nutrition and Hydration, Elimination, Rest/Comfort/Sleep
- Basic Nursing Skills - Infection Control, Safety/Emergency, Therapeutic/Technical Procedures, Data Collection and Reporting
- Restorative Skills – Prevention, Self-care/Independence
- Psychosocial Care Skills – Emotional and Mental Health Needs
- Spiritual and Cultural Needs
- Client Rights
- Legal and Ethical Behavior
- Member of the Health Care Team
See the Candidate Handbook for more details.
Certification Renewal and Continuing Education Requirements: According to Vermont law, to renew your license, you will need to have worked just 24 hours of employment during the past 24 months are required, although this must be paid employment, not volunteer work, and in a nursing environment such as a nursing home, home health setting or a hospital.
You can renew your license with the Vermont State Nurse Aide Registry at the address below.
You can find the Vermont nursing assistant license renewal form here.
Vermont Board of Nursing
Office of Professional Regulation
89 Main Street, 3rd Floor
Montpelier, VT 05620-3402
Phone: 802-828-2396 or 888-287-5006