Utah Nursing Assistant / Nurse Aide Guide
Is a License or Certification needed: To get certified and work as a nursing assistant or nurse aide in Utah, you need to complete a nursing assistant program and pass the Nursing Assistant Training and Competency Evaluation Program (NATCEP) exam.
Who Grants Certification: The Utah Nursing Assistant Registrymaintains the registry of nurse aides. A company called D & S Diversified grants certification to nursing assistants or nurse aides.
The Qualifications to become Certified: To qualify for nursing assistant or nurse aide certification in Utah you must successfully complete the Utah NATCEP program.
How to Apply for Certification and to take the Exam: In order to apply for Nurse Aide Licensure in Utah, you will need to use the Test Master Universe (TMU) portal. Once a training program is completed, candidates will be assigned a username and password to take the knowledge test.
Utah test sites can be found and scheduled here.
Test Content: The NATCEP exam has two parts, a Skills Evaluation and a Written section. Both parts must be passed to be listed on the Utah State Nurse Aide Registry. The written section is 100 questions in length. You will have 90 minutes to complete the exam and must receive a 75% to pass.
The questions on the written exam are from OBRA defined categories. Content topics include:
- Infection Control
- Data Collection
- Personal Care
- Basic Nursing Skills
- Mental Health
- Role and Responsibility
- Care Impaired
- Disease Process
- Resident Rights
- Older Adult Growth & Development
You can find all details in a candidate handbook.
The skills evaluation will be a 20-40 minute time period given to complete 5 selected nurse aide skills plus the skills of Hand Washing and Vital Signs. If you feel that you have missed a step, verbalize to your instructor that you missed it and perform the step. Your instructor is only allowed to give you two hints total for all 7 skills. You must memorize all beginning and ending steps of each skill. If you miss one of the critical steps, you will fail the skills portion automatically. The critical steps are bolded in the handbook.
Certification Renewal and Continuing Education Requirements: According to Utah law, to renew your license, it is required that you have had 200 hours of employment in the paid role of a nurse aide, under a registered nurse, during the past 24 months. This must be paid employment, not volunteer work, and in a nursing environment such as a nursing home, home health setting or a hospital.
You can renew your license at the TMU portal. There is no fee to renew.
UT Nurse Aide Registry
UT Health Technology Certification Center
Room 2036, 550 E. 300 South
Kaysville, UT 84037